REVIEWS

Drive Albania tour reviews – what our clients say about us

“Ed from Drive Albania put together a great 12-day trip for us, filled with superb road-biking opportunities. Our guide, Nick, was a former Olympian and Albanian road biking champion, and was always nearby in his 4x4, with water and snacks. We stayed in great hotels every night, food was plentiful, tasty and inexpensive. We would definitely recommend Albania as a destination and Drive Albania to set up your tour. Five stars.”

Harley Winger, November 2018

“My husband and I spent two weeks in Albania, Montenegro and Kosovo with Drive Albania. Planning the trip was very easy as Ed, the owner, answered our emails and questions immediately and together with his knowledge and our special requests to visit/see certain places, created an exciting itinerary.

“We credit Henri, our driver/guide (and who soon became our friend) with the success of our trip. His English is excellent, his knowledge of Albania and the sites we visited was extensive, he is an excellent and safe driver and he is very friendly and engaging person.

“If you want to explore a beautiful country, rich in culture and and wilderness experiences, go to Albania. It is not inundated with tourists. The people are hospitable and kind and the food is excellent. It is a gem!”

Nancy Money, October 2018

“A great introduction to Albania and Kosovo. Fantastically friendly people and a super-good driver and guide, who constantly made the journey for us.”

Torben Jørgensen, September 2018

“Our trip to the Balkans, beginning in Tirana, Albania, and ending in Zagreb, Croatia, has been a wonderful journey for us. Ed helped me plan the trip and our driver was Ardi. We cannot thank Ardi enough. We got to go high into the mountains of Albania and do some hiking, and visit many places throughout the Balkans. Ardi is a remarkable young man, prompt, responsible, kind and patient. Very good company and an excellent driver.”

Mary Labee, September 2018

“Many thanks for arranging such a brilliant holiday for us. It was a great trip, exceeding our expectations, with spectacular routes and amazing sites – natural and historic. Your choice of itinerary, hotels and restaurant recommendations were spot-on and we got to so many places we’d never have reached without your advice – despite thinking of ourselves as fairly intrepid travellers.”

Helen Baylis, September 2018

“We had heard Albania was a beautiful country to visit but didn’t know where to start. When I reached out to Drive Albania, Ed was super helpful and designed a trip that suited our timeframe and what we wanted to experience. We spent an amazing three days off road driving. Staying with a family in the Kurvelesh Mountains was a truly unique experience and Petrit and his family were incredibly welcoming. They cooked delicious meals for us using all fresh ingredients grown on their land. Camping on Gjipe beach was beautiful and Ed was helpful in providing what we needed to make our trip perfect. We highly recommend booking a trip with Drive Albania and experiencing everything Albania has to offer!”

Rebecca Hunt, August 2018

“We had a wonderful trip thanks to the expertise of you and your colleagues concerning the countries and places to visit. The road trip exceeded our expectations in many ways! Also, we were very happy with the flexibility during the trip and that we could stay in touch via WhatsApp. We have recommened Drive Albania to family and friends already as the trip was perfectly arranged!”

Janneke Smees, August 2018

“We’d like to congratulate you for having such a perfect guide and driver such as Nesti – he really lived up to our expectations with a big plus! We had no major hiccups and Nesti was flexible to our wish to make a small change to the programme. We’ll gladly recommend Drive Albania to anyone going in that direction – and we still have the southern part to discover!”

Leif & Ingrid Borgstrom, August 2018

“We are fortunate to have travelled to lots of places and this trip (tailored for us) was simply fantastic and right up there with the best of what we have ever done. The tour took us from tops of mountains to beautiful lakes and on to stunning beaches – from villages to cities and everything else in-between. Here was a company who listened to their customers and delivered in every way.

“Most of our trip was spent with Ardi, who is an unbelievably awesome guide and a fabulous driver. We had tons of fun and learnt so much about Albania. We loved the flexibility that a private tour afforded us and we were able to make decisions on the fly – if we wanted to go the long way, we could; skip a place, sure; go on a hike, you bet – the list goes on.

“Would we unreservedly recommend Drive Albania? You bet! Would we go to Albania again? In a heartbeat – it’s magic.”

Mark & Anne Evans, August 2018

“There is absolutely no way we could have done the things we did and got to the places we went without inside knowledge and a guide. Ardi was fantastic, he gave us lots of options and added to the tour by being great fun. He also gave us lots of tips for our ongoing travels through Montenegro – if we could we would have kept him with us for the rest of our trip around Europe!”

Peter & Marianne Sydney, August 2018

“Did I tell you the Gloria Mundi sorority group had a FANTASTIC tour with you guys? Thanks for your cooperation and very good services!”

Susan Watertor, Younique Travel, Amsterdam, July 2018

“Other than ‘fabulous, would do it again tomorrow, best holiday ever’ sort of thing there’s not much to add. Will be in touch in 2019 to plan another trip!”

Kath Ryan, July 2018

“Every step of the way, our guide Ardi was fantastic in helping us understand the local cultures and experiences. Terrific service and looking forward to heading back to Albania again.”

Timothy Exner, July 2018

“Our three girls are realising how special the trip was, from the Land Rover to skinny dipping in remote rivers, to the secret beach, to the mountain climbing in Kosovo…”

Miranda Lazeroms, July 2018

“We enjoyed our self-drive holiday very much! The new Lada 4x4 provided by Drive Albania did a great job and was really fun to drive…”

Peter Stroomberg, July 2018

“We are back home and trying to process the most awesome and inspiring journey that you and your colleagues have given us, memories that will last forever. Your professionalism and knowledge of Albanian history was nothing less than amazing.”

Nigel Hands, June 2018

“What can I say? Ed, Henri and Adi where truly amazing. Not only had they done their homework and found history we where unaware of, they were pure entertainment all the way. Their knowledge of the terrain, culture, and people of Albania is immense, not forgetting their driving skills – and all done with such humour and aplomb.”

Elizabeth Glover, June 2018

“Our stay in Albania was awesome! This was mostly thanks to the extremely helpful service from Drive Albania. We drove around on our own in a new Lada Niva 4x4, got tips on routes, places to visit and even accommodation. It felt like we had a virtual tour guide, always reachable by WhatsApp, even on short notice. The tips were vital as we would have never found those amazing routes on our own. We would highly recommend Drive Albania, especially if you want to go a outside the normal tourist routes.”

Max Langstedt, June 2018

“We enjoyed three private day trips from Tirana with Ed and Nesti, one of his excellent Albanian guides. Drive Albania provides adventure, exceptional local experiences and the chance to reach remote and unspoiled parts of Albania. Highly recommended if you are looking to discover the lesser-travelled places in this fascinating country that is only just opening up to tourism.”

Chris & Dara Robinson, June 2018

“Drive Albania (Ed Reeves & Co) planned this trip fabulously. Our personal guide, Nesti, was top-notch professional and knowledgeable as well as personable. He became our family for the two weeks. A true treasure.”

Richard Picone, June 2018

“AMAZING is the world I have been using! I didn’t feel at all like I was on one of your typical tourist trips. Our guide Nesti was, as some of us Americans say, ‘The Cat’s Meow’. Just wonderful, so caring, so knowledgeable, a complete joy to be with. I can’t say enough about the team (including Bubi, Ed’s dog) and the trip.”

Barbara Froebel, June 2018

“Ardi, our guide through Macedonia and Albania, was great and highly entertaining. Overall we rate our quality of service as excellent. Five stars.”

Ralph Arnold, June 2018

“We want to tell you – this time not less than last year – that Ardi was again not only a good driver and an important guide but also a very helpful and thoughtful friend. Without him the trip would not have been so tip-top. We gladly will recommend your agency.”

Peter & Catherine Binnendijk, June 2018

“Henri was great. Nothing but amazing kudos for the experience. I definitely would use Drive Albania again if I choose to go back, which I hope to do in the future.”

Jeremy Pripstein, May 2018

“Five stars – for Nesti our driver and the overall care you took on this trip.”

Corine Arends, May 2018

“I had the great fortune of being paired up with Nesti. Here is the kind of guide who makes a journey. While sticking to the basic itinerary, he was always flexible, with grace and humor at all times. Had a great time, travelled many miles, had great dining experiences (none of the stupid crap with pre-arranged, tour approved restaurants) and many opportunities to travel the road less travelled. I’ve been to over 70 countries and this has been one of my favorite trips. Go before it all changes.”

David Spaeth, March 2018

“We really struggled to find people capable of both editorial and logistical support in Albania. Drive Albania were great to work with and provided us with everything we needed transport-wise. Beyond that Ardi has lots of local knowledge, was a great translator and provided us with story suggestions. It was only a shame that we didn’t meet Ed and his colleagues sooner…”

Sophia Lightfoot, Producer, BBC2’s The Misadventures of Romesh Ranganathan, February 2018

“We are very pleased and happy from what we saw of the Albanian mountains and we left you with the promise that we would come back soon! So it’s your turn to organise us a new trip…”

Tasos Hatzis, Hatzis Ford Thessaloniki, January 2018

“Very off the beaten track, culturally engaging and personal. I would highly recommend anyone travelling to Albania and Kosovo to give Ed from Drive Albania a call!”

Daan Kuipers, Producer, 3 Op Reis, November 2017 

“To whomever is reading this: just book a tour with Drive Albania! You will not be disappointed and it will be a true adventure!”

Wouter de Bruin & Sarah van Kampen, September 2017

“We had an amazing Albania tour, an absolute blast… Anything you want is possible.”

Rene Montsma, September 2017

“I wanted to say what a fabulous Albania tour we had. The trip you organised really allowed us to get under the skin of the country – which I don’t think we could have done if we hadn’t got off-road into the mountains.”

Hillary Atherton, Alison Gibb & Liz Cleaver, September 2017

“We want to thank you again for your help… we are glad we chose Drive Albania for our tour and specially for the way Ardi was our driver/guide and far more than that.”

Peter & Catherine Binnendijk, September 2017

“We had an excellent tour through Albania, Macedonia, Kosovo and Montenegro and would thoroughly recommend using Drive Albania.”

Tim & Sue Fielder, September 2017

“Our driver, Henri (or, as he came to be known, ‘The Amazing Henri’) was a real gem. He was professional, a good driver, and very accommodating and flexible.”

Patricia Tiller, September 2017

“We are over-the-moon with getting such a taste of Albania in such a short time. The 4x4 was able to get us to off the beaten track but the secret was to have such a good driver as Nesti, Albanian born and very knowledgeable of the country and its history.”

Jim & Genevieve Gall, July 2017

“Henri was a super host and a real credit to Drive Albania. He drove well, talked a lot and generally looked after us immaculately.”

George Vlachonikolis, July 2017

“An Albanian Heineken experience!”

Geoff & Margaret Barnes, June 2017

“The organisation of the trip was faultless.”

Tim & Linda Messenger, June 2017

“Ardi’s kindness, patience and consideration for others make him an outstanding driver, not to mention that his English and German are excellent.”

Kathi & Kai Wanjohi, May 2017

“Our tour with Drive Albania was a unique experience and gave us an exceptional impression of the Albanian mountains. The organisation went smoothly, the drivers were professional and the hotels all perfect.”

Alexander & Anna Erb, May 2017

“Your superb team was brilliant, every one of them. Totally dynamic and engaging. If you are going to run the Southern Albania trip next year, I would be interested in being signed up. Right now, in fact.”

John Pindar, May 2017

“This was one of the best holidays that we have ever had!”

Geoff & Lynn Teale, May 2017

“Oh My God! We have had a fantastic holiday! Thank you so much for your excellent driving, your local knowledge, your translation of menus, and all the laughs you have given us.”

Peter & Heather Faulkner and Frieda Beeson, May 2017

“The landscapes in Albania are stunning and the off-road driving brought us into this scenery in a way that a road tour never could.”

Neil Amor, May 2017

“This is the second time I have been on tour with Drive Albania. l thought my first trip could not be bettered but I was wrong.”

 Jo Palmer, April 2017

“Nesti is a real gem. Perfect English, knowledgeable, safe, client-focused and a joy to be with.”

Zara Taylor, April 2017

“Our experience went beyond our expectations.”

Astrid Marschatz & Marino Pau, April 2017

“If you want to get back to nature with excellent drivers who are fun, friendly and a good team with banter and chat, this is the Albania adventure for you.”

Ray Comley, September 2016

“There are insufficient superlatives to describe the experience.”

Alan & Eleanor Fenn, September 2016

“Would I recommend Drive Albania? Well, I plan to go back next year…”

Sarah Prior, September 2016

“We had such fun together and Nesti was the perfect companion… I particularly enjoyed being able to take to the wheel myself when we got off-road.”

Stephen & Christine, and Emma and Louise Billingham, September 2016

“We are seasoned travellers and would still rate this as one of our best holidays.”

Karen & Andy Gill, September 2016

“Overall the trip was a great success. Albania is a country well worth visiting and I would not hesitate to recommend Drive Albania.”

Mike Springett, August 2016

“The night sky, unspoilt by light pollution was good, but made great by fireflies, moths, bats and owls spotted hunting. The camping was sublime. Nobody about. No noise. Just us and our campfire.”

Martin Sheward, July 2016

“We were delighted to have chosen Drive Albania for our holiday. From the moment we arrived, Ed, Ani and Ardi worked tirelessly to make sure our trip was hassle-free.

Martin & Erika Lindsay, June 2016

“These guys know what they are doing so sit back in the Land Rover and enjoy the beauty of Albania and Kosovo.”

Ken Smith, June 2016

“Dori and Nesti were fantastic and Bubi the Office Dog added his mark; they did a brilliant job. It was a fantastic adventure – we felt we really did see the real Albania.”

Bob & Fiona Robinson, June 2016

“I shall have no hesitation in recommending Drive Albania to anyone who I think will enjoy exploring the backwoods of the Balkans!”

James McLeod, May 2016

“Four-wheel drive adds a fourth dimension! Drive Albania can use its Land Rovers very flexibly, and, familiar with most routes and timing, assist on an itinerary to take you where you want to be.”

Jennie Anderson, May 2016

“We managed to reach some of the most spectacular places in the country – remote villages, alpine pastures and wild mountain scenery. This was only possible with the invaluable support we received throughout the trip from Drive Albania.”

 John & Anne Wallington, May 2016

“I just can’t wait to go back.”

Charlie Nelson, April 2016

“I would like to thank you and your team for our superbly organised and great 10-day Albania, Kosovo and Montenegro 4×4 tour.”

Israel & Rachel Karmon, October 2015

“If you like holidays that show you something different, then book Drive Albania!”

Carole Lerway, October 2015

“Thank you for organising such an enjoyable trip and one which I will not forget for many years.”

Keith Jennings, September 2015

“Ed and his team are to be congratulated on putting together a fabulous trip – one that will live long in the memory.”

 Myles Munsey, November 2015

“Many thanks, Ed and Ardi, for a glorious week we will never forget.”

Paul Batho & Sarah Tenant-Flowers, July 2015

“The tour was a fabulous and delightful introduction to Albania, its people and their culture.”

Rob & Sylvia Johnstone, June 2015

“On both tours the off-road driving was a delight, fulfilling my highest expectations and distinguishing this journey from any other I might have chosen.”

Hilary Dennison, June 2015

“I can’t speak highly enough of our experience. We could do what we wanted, when we wanted. Nothing was too much trouble.”

Tessa Prior-Thompson, May 2015

“Thanks to Ed, Dori and all at Drive Albania for a great Albania Jeep tour which I fully intend to repeat.”

Paul Denham, May 2015

“We consider ourselves most privileged to be among the only tourists to meet these people and experience this region of Albania’s diverse and raw beauty.”

Jamie Anderson, October 2014

“Drive Albania produced an incredibly bespoke itinerary having conducted vast research and reconnaissance ahead of time, just to make sure that our requirements and expectations could be met – and these were exceeded.”

Mike Demenis, May 2014

“All in all an emotional family odyssey for my son and I, which was a four-wheel-drive adventure for us and our two friends.”

Alex Smyth, May 2014

“Drive Albania provided a bespoke service that was never found wanting.”

Jan Janiurek, May 2014

Recommended By

Press Recommendations
Press Recommendations